Herbstrauschen Shawl

Back in October I spent a week on the Greek island of Zakynthos enjoying some late season sunshine with my sister in law and two teenage nieces. I took a crochet hook and a skein of wool with me (along with countless other threads,stitching projects,paints…you get the picture!) so I wanted a simple project to work on. I had a stash of downloaded patterns on my phone and finally decided on the Herbstrauschen pattern by Christina Adorjan:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/cadors-designs/patterns
I started crocheting on the train to Birmingham and then put in most of the hours sat on the balcony drinking coffee and chatting with the girls. 

Early morning view from the balcony, it wasn’t always this quiet!

My sis in law loved watching me making the scarf and asked me to make her one but as time is tight for me just now I finished this one and gave it to her for Christmas.

This is a great pattern that was challenging enough to keep it interesting and the three row repeat meant I could talk while I worked and pick up/put down the crochet without losing my place. I also learnt the German words for crochet stitches!

I’ve got a few more finished crochet projects to share, mainly more scarves, I think I need to enforce a crochet scarf ban in 2017 and get a bit more adventurous with my hooks! 

Leave a Reply

