Some Happy Hooking

042

 

043

 

About 18 months back I made this ripple afghan blanket for an old pal of mine, I chose the colours based on her dreadlocks which are black with woven in coloured strands (her hair looks better than it sounds and doesn’t include the dog hairs which have made their way into my crochet!). Her mum really liked the blanket and wanted to take it home with her so I said that I would make her one as well…I finally got round to starting it about 6 weeks ago but instead of replicating what I’d already made I thought I’d try a new pattern, it’s thanks again to Mikey at The Crochet Crowd that I’ve learnt another new crochet stitch – Tunisian Entrelac:

 

wpid-20140412_182200.jpg

wpid-20140412_182230.jpg

I found this stitch quite addictive – I’m sure i’m not alone with the “I’ll just do one more square..I’ll just get to the end of this row…I’ll just make a start with a new row just to see how the colours sit together…” and before you know it the hours have flown by but I think that’s why I enjoy any creative activity – the joy of being lost in the moment.

I’m making a serious attempt to use up the materials I have around me and I’m pleased to say that all of the yarn used (apart from a new ball of yellow yarn I had to buy after I frustratingly ran out towards the end of the row!) came from the stash. These aren’t the kind of colours I would normally be drawn to but I think the blanket has a spring feel to it and the solid sections of purple,yellow and white were inspired by the crocuses I’d seen down the park. In the centre I’ve used the last of the yarn that featured in the original blanket.

 

 

 

image

So here’s the finished article – I did a ripple stitch edge to the blanket but I think I’ve added extra stitches along the way as the border has a bit of flounce about it, but it looks fine so I’m not too bothered about my sloppy stitch counting!
image
And of course as soon as I put the blanket on the sofa for a photograph my dog pal had to jump on it just to add in some extra hairs as a final touch.
image

Leave a Reply

